what is your “why”?

Standard

Blessings Unlimited has always challenged us and coined the term “Your Why”.  The why behind the reason you do what you do.  Obviously, as this applies to Blessings Unlimited, it is why you decided to share this amazing company.  I began writing out my why last summer when I attended Summer Jam, the big Blessings Unlimited conference, which I just registered for this summer—excited!  The conference was life changing for me and reminded me of a HUGE MOPS gathering (Mothers of Preschoolers) and Oprah’s favorite things party all wrapped up into one.  I am telling you, it is a big ‘ole WOW being there and I can’t wait for July to come…

I have found that my “why” is kind of ever-changing.  When I first began, it was because I loved the products.  THAT has not changed, but it has become so much more to me.  Really, my goal is that Blessings Unlimited becomes just as common as Tupperware!  Wouldn’t that be the coolest?  And it’s also really cool that it’s not as common as Tupperware.  I love to tell people about it for the first time, which I am exhausting the first-timers here in our little community.  But, more than the products– it is the people.  Some of my favorite times with Blessings has been the relationships between women and girlfriends.  It has expanded the people I have grown to know and love greatly.  It has brought new people, new ideas, and other businesses into my life.  And, it has brought my own family together. Getting the house ready and food prepared has been the biggest role Steve and the kids have embraced.  (maybe embrace isn’t the perfect word—some may say FORCED to do!)  But for yesterday in particular, my girls chopped and chopped fruit for the fruit salsa and took great pride in making the recipe all on their own.  The term recipe is used very loosely as Kass didn’t follow one…just took some of my suggestions.  She did a great job because it was a hit!  And a very healthy snack for your kiddos.
image

Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips

1 lb fresh strawberries, chopped

3 granny smith apples, chopped

2 kiwi, chopped

2 mango, chopped

Zest AND juice of 1 orange

2 TBSP brown sugar

White tortillas OR whole wheat tortillas cut in 8 triangle slices

Cinnamon/Sugar mixture

Chop all fruit and combine.  Zest orange and squeeze orange juice.  Combine with brown sugar.  Pour over fruit and chill for a couple of hours before serving.

To make the chips.  Line baking sheet with sliced tortillas.  Sprinkle with water and then the cinnamon/sugar mixture.

Bake at 400 degrees for approimately 10 minutes or until crispy.

I keep a notebook of the different recipes I try–what works, what doesn’t, etc.  This is a very fun recipe for Spring and Summer.  We paired that with Veggie Pizza and a couple of different refrigerator cakes for a light, springy menu for the beautiful afternoon.

My why changes all the time.  Or more so, it is just added to.  I love afternoons hanging out with friends and family.  I love to take a couple of hours and just be~ to eat and talk with friends with a bit of shopping mixed in.  Last year offered many life-changing experiences for me, and listening to a sermon on being “Blessed to be a blessing” was certainly one of them. I just absolutely love that.  What a challenge to use blessings for more blessings.  And this was all before Blessings Unlimited knocked itself right on my front door.  I think God was laying the ground work way before I had a clue.  Sound familiar?

image

image

image

Relationships are where it’s at.  And to know we are sharing the love of Christ with each other is just the cherry on top!  And as we are teaching our kids this month, remember  we are called to be in relationships with others.  And thanks to Blessings Unlimited,  it makes it pretty easy.

And finally…did I have an overwhelming show-stopper best seller from yesterday?  Yes.  The JEWELRY.  But a certain piece in particular?  No.  Isn’t it just awesome how God made us all different!

You can take the “why” of who you are into everything you do.  Try it sometime.  I think it would be a really fun thing to share with a group of friends sometime.  Like say…some afternoon with coffee and treats?

2 responses »

  1. I didn’t know Blessings sold jewelry?! Just jewelry or jewelry with a Godly message.. or both? You make me want to just drop by sometimes when I see all the abundant yummy foods at your parties!! Seriously.. you always have the most awesome food!! :)

Leave a Reply

