Return of the Roast.

Standard

Ok, this is a really sad reality.  Nonetheless, it is truth.  We have not had a Sunday dinner roast since I do not remember when.  I mean, we are talking over a year people.   Come to think of it, I have absolutely no idea what we have been eating for Sunday dinner the last 52 Sundays.   Pizza Hut buffet has become almost a tradition on my side of the family.  A great tradition, I might add.  And there are a few Sundays sprinkled in there that we eat with Steve’s family—which is a great thing too.  Are you seeing the pattern here?  I kind of like the Sundays that don’t require me to think of what to make for dinner after church.  I kind of like it when it is already cooked for me.  And even better when there are no dishes to clean up!

The reality for our family is this…they want to eat ROAST –and they want to eat it every Sunday.  I am telling you, it was like I was serving them their only meal in days.  Natalie was talking about this roast as soon as we were done with breakfast.  Then, our topic of conversation on our drive to church oddly centered around this roast.  And of course, by the time we got to our ride home, it was all anyone could think about.  We walk in to our house, and even as we first hit the garage before entering the house, we were all engulfed in the aroma of this roast.  Kids raced to change their clothes, there was no fighting of who would set the table or who filled the glasses.  We were working together.  We could not wait FOR THE ROAST.

Then this happened.  And everywhere I looked, someone was licking their fingers…

Could it really be that something as simple as a roast can bring a family together?  I would argue this a definite YES.

All was right in the world at the Kaufman house even for a just a bit.  Thank you to a very good friend who gave me this recipe, I can become a hero even if it is once every 52 weeks.  Would you like the recipe?  Trust me.  Your family will thank you…

Chuck Roast

1 can Coca-Cola

1 package Lipton’s Onion Soup Mix

1 Can cream of Mushroom Soup

Salt and pepper roast and brown in oil just a bit on all sides.

Mix together coke, onion soup mix, and cream of mushroom soup.

Pour over roast and bake at 325 degrees for 4-5 hours.

I always at least double the gravy mixture so we have extra.  And I always add potatoes and carrots to complete the meal.  So easy and obviously a crowd pleaser, at our house anyway.  If you get a roast with a bone, you’ll even make your furry friends happy. 

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: can we go bold? | Steph's Blessings

Leave a Reply

