Be the Light.

Standard

My absolute favorite piece of decor I have in my home is this sign that I keep in our dining room next to our deck door.  I was so drawn to this sign from the very first time that I saw it.  The verse, Matthew 5:16 is so beautiful “ Be a light for other people…Live so that they will praise your Father in heaven.”  Oh my goodness.  I just love it.

What a way to begin your day!  To vow to let your light shine.   It feels good, doesn’t it?  To think, “I am going to let my light shine for others”.  And when I am talking with my kids, I love to leave them with “be Jesus to someone today.  Be different–-so others see you and want what you have”.  No, it’s not the material things.  It’s not the way you look, the clothes you wear, or the way you spent hours on your hair.  It IS your heart.  Your ability to shine on others the love of Jesus through you.

It’s a great goal.  To let your light shine.  But man, it’s easy for things to get in the way of that.  It’s so easy for a cloud of envy, anxiety, comparison, and inadequacies to hover over us.   I know that I’ve talked about Holley Gerth before, but I just can’t get enough of her wonderful nuggets she writes about.  I was given this book, You are Already Amazing as a gift.  I have not read it yet, but was in a training session today that referenced her words and heart of this book.  “God has given you everything—you lack for nothing.  We have each been gifted to do what God has called us to do.  We just have to ‘walk” where we have called to be”.  Isn’t that so good? 

We all have everything we need already to be a LIGHT for each other, whether at school, work, church, home, etc.  I think it’s exciting!  When I first saw these books from Blessings Unlimited, I was so pumped!   “God’s Light in Me”  just exactly exemplifies what the “Let Your Light Shine” sign says.  The same verse is even in the books!  I am so in love with these because they are so encouraging for little chidren.  And they are great for older children who are learning how to look up scripture as each page has a scripture reference to the Light of Christ.  They are beautiful.  The book for a little girl is centered around the character, Elle Grace and the book for a little boy is centered around the puppy, Truman.  Just the most precious, precious books, doll and stuffed puppy. 

I know from my own experiences that being the LIGHT God calls us to be can definitely be a challenge.  And definitely a challenge for our kids each day as they face many obstacles that try to put that light out.  As we begin this new school year, I wonder if we all prayed for our Light to Shine how bright it would be?  

Sunglasses anyone?

 

Leave a Reply

