fear.

Standard

These pictures just say it all.  In fact, I’ve seen this same exact look and heard screaming that sounds as if it were coming from a little girl out of Landon’s mouth.  We laughed and laughed when at school during the annual 2nd grade FROG JUMP, when out of the bucket of one of his fellow classmates was seriously a monster frog.  Oh my goodness.  First of all, I am not a fan of animals that are not furry and cute.  I know they have their place in God’s world and I’m good with that.  As long as I never ever have to touch one.  So, getting past the FROG JUMP with my fourth child—well, let’s just say, this was one milestone I embraced as I move towards the future!  (and I don’t always embrace moving forward that well!)  When the big burly frog was taken out of the bucket, you could hear the ooo’s and ahhhss’ across the crowd of 2nd graders and their parents.  This frog looked right in Landon’s direction and spread out his green slimy legs and jumped right to him.  Now, you have to know Landon.  Most people would never guess that he would curl up in the fetal position and scream the way he did.  Most people would think he’s pretty tough.  Most people think that he’s just all boy.  I know Steve and I did.  That is until the…FROG JUMP. 

 
image

Then at church on Sunday, we met such a kind man.  And then he pulled out this.

 
image

image

Ok, ok…I know this one is furry.  But seriously?  These pictures were taken from afar.  Not even maybe would I let a tarantula crawl upon me.  And the only reason Landon was not screaming is because they told him he must be calm and quiet so he didn’t startle the tarantula and make it bite.  WHAT?

 
image

I look back now and can’t believe we put half of our babies lives in jeopardy. 

 

Fear.  Did you know the concept of fear is used in the bible many, many times?  And as many times as it is used, it is NEVER from God?  Think about that.  How many of us are fearful for our futures?  How many of us are mudded over and overtaken by fear of the unknown?  We are told DO NOT BE AFRAID!  The Lord is with you always. 

 

Clearly this is a struggle for me.  I’m not talking about being afraid of the dark here.  You know what I’m talking about, don’t you?    But fear can rear its ugly head and stop us dead in our tracks.  Fear of what people will think about you.  Fear of the unknown.  Fear to take a risk.  Fear of NOT taking a risk.  Where does it end?  

 

I can see this fear in absolutely every aspect of my life.  God has given us a gift of freedom from fear!  We just don’t always receive it well.

 

I was affirmed a few months ago in the fact that I was to be helping lead worship for the children in our community when I was told that the theme verse for the year was Proverbs 3:5-6. This has been a favorite verse of mine for years and I believe it is perfect for dealing with fear, anxiety, and an overall questioning of circumstances of life.  I’m pretty sure everyone is able to relate and gain much from this verse at some point.  Must be why they chose it for a theme, huh? 

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding.  In all your ways acknowledge him–and he will direct your path”. 

 

Leave a Reply

