beginning to see a theme here?

Standard

Not sure what it is about Wednesdays, but I wake up eager to try new recipes for breakfast.  It could be that I am generally running out of groceries by mid-week (likely) and need to be creative?  Or it could be that I am beginning to have certain things I blog about on particular days (unlikely—I am not that intentional–ha!).  Whatever the case is, I have a NEW yummo recipe that all four of the kids thought were a hit this morning.  I am going to refrain from posting a picture of the recipe book I used, because you have now seen it weekly, I think.  AND I am bored with it!  So I can not imagine where you are at…

Instead you will get a picture of the finished product AND the recipe.  How’s that?
image

If you have 30 minutes in your morning, you can do this.  I started the process at 7:00 am (which is too late, just ask the teenies) and your family can be eating these by 7:35 am (again, too late–ask my girls).  Unfortunately for all children involved this morning, they did not do what I said to do.  Get yourselves COMPLETELY ready because breakfast is going to be the LAST thing you do before we go.  It did not happen, as Kourt was trying to find a pony tail holder and Landon was shoeless at 7:55 am (which is TOO late—and please DON’T ask my girls because they have fire in their eyes for their siblings this morning).  Nonetheless, every one of the Kaufman’s are sitting in their classrooms.  Said a quick prayer that the middle schoolers did not in fact get a tardy as they proclaimed they would…we’ll see.

I want you all to see that sometimes when you read blog posts that give you a breakfast recipe, you may in fact think wow, she has got it together—don’t go there.  Because as you can see from the paragraph above, it is not all nice and pretty every day.  Not even close.  I’m not sure the kids always appreciate me venting and showing their frustrations through the blogging world, BUT–it is reality.  I know I had a comment last week I think?  That made me stop and think.  And made me realize that I’ve felt that way sometimes too when reading other blogs.  I really want this blog to reflect light.  I really want to reflect the positive, and the blessings, of each day.  And with that, the last thing I want is to discourage anyone else because they didn’t make muffins for breakfast.  SMILE!  Cereal is a wonderful breakfast!  We just happen to not have any in the house…

Ok, enough blabbing.  Here is the recipe.  I think you’ll like it.  I am thankfully surprised at the little amount of sugar for the recipe.  And I bet these would freeze well too. 

Apple Streusel Muffins

1 cup flour

1/2 cup whole wheat flour (I used all whole wheat)

1/2 cup sugar

1 Tablespoon baking powder

1 tsp. salt

3/4 cup butter

2 medium apples, chopped, skin on

2 cups raising bran cereal (I used leftover cereal remnants–and it worked!)

3 tsp. cinnamon, divided

2 eggs

1 cup milk

2 Tbsp. sugar

1.)  Sift together flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt

2.) Cut in butter with pastry cutter until mixture resembles coarse meal.  Set aside 1/4 cup.

3.)  Add chopped apple, cereal, and cinnamon.  Mix well.

4.)  Combine eggs and milk and add to apple mixture, stirring lightly, just until moist.  Batter will be lumpy.

5.)  Fill 12 greased muffin cups and top with the crumbs set aside earlier.  Sprinkle with sugar.

6.)  Bake at 400 degrees fro 18-20 minutes

Should I cite this recipe?  Am I plagiarizing?  Oh no!!!  It’s from Mennonite Girls Can Cook recipe book on page 35 and from Charlotte.

 

There.  I feel better.

Leave a Reply

