february virtue.

Standard

I have debated and debated delving into this post today.  In my mind, the nagging or nudging continues.  So I am going to go for it.  And, besides.  It’s the new virtue for Journey Kids this month.  And I am going to be teaching on it ALL month. 

First of all, I have to say that I love, love, love 252 Basics, the curriculum we use.   In my opinion, I have found that being a teacher using this curriculum is about as simple as it gets.  Not to mention that we have an amazing Children’s Pastor who organizes, finds volunteers to pack up everything we need for each week, and there for support whenever needed.  (maybe that is it?)  But, I know how much fun Steve is having as a Sunday school teacher—and it’s a huge blessing to see.  Having his son in his class may change that—better not speak to soon…

THE VIRTUE.  Peace.  When you think of the word PEACE what does it really mean to you?   

The teaching on peace this month is exactly how I want to teach this virtue to my kids.  So many times, especially in the Mennonite faith, much is associated with “war” when talking about peace.  The fact of the matter is, the term “mennonite” does not mean “peace”.  The term “peace” does not mean “anti-war” or “anti-government”.  So that being said, I do not believe those can be interchangeable.  Saying we are against this or that isn’t always “peaceful”, is it?   Above all else, when teaching kids (and adults for that matter) what are you going to listen to most?  Someone being negative and telling you NOT to do something?  Or someone telling you the way to live for Jesus?  I know what my answer is to this.  And by modeling and teaching kids to live as Jesus wants them to, they will make difficult decisions for themselves.  I really, really believe that.  Without ever having to say “this is bad” or “we don’t believe in this”.  To teach the “connection between PEACE and God’s character as shown through God’s big story”.  I don’t think any of us can argue that God does not want us to reflect peace in our relationships with others, can we?  And I’ll say it again…this curriculum is awesome in their teaching on peace.

The Life Application:  Peace:  Proving you care more about each other than winning an argument.

The Bottom Line:  Prove you care about others by walking away from a fight.

Memory Verse:  “So let us do all we can to live in peace.  And let us work hard to build each other up”.  Romans 14:19.

Each story for the next four weeks reflects the virtue of peace in the bible.  Yesterday it was Isaac’s wells.  Did you know about Isaac’s wells?  Read it in Genesis 26:16-22, 26-31.  So interesting to see this virtue put into practice, WAAAYYY before Jesus ever walked the earth.  Just part of God’s character of peace in His big story. 

Kourtney and Landon were having some issues riding in the back seat on the way to school.  This is nothing new.  Especially in the mornings at our house.  I found it quite amusing to hear each of them ask the other…”did you hear what we learned yesterday about caring more about ‘me’ than winning this fight?”  Not exxxaaaccctly how I would have worded it.  HA!  But I think they kind of “got it”.  Even if it was from a very egocentric point of view!  I have some ideas on what next month’s virtue could be…

Leave a Reply

