a therapy day.

Standard

I am pretending that I needed more attention today than my house.  That is SO not true.  But whatever.  I used this time today to my fullest and it is rejuvenating—even if I come home to laundry that still needs to be put away, rice krispies dried on to the breakfast bowl, and another load of dishes, underwear, and socks that need to be washed.  Seriously–the honest truth.

It started with a Children’s ministry “meeting”.  That’s what we call it anyway!  It is more like two friends getting together and having coffee and tea.  It is a blast.  Dreaming about what we are going to do for Journey Kids and talking through what works, doesn’t work, and what might work.  It is energizing and I am beyond thankful for this friendship and leadership I have in our children’s minister.  The fact that there is a children’s minister tells me how important kids are to our church family.  What a blessing.

Shopping isn’t always rejuvenating for me.  UNLESS, I am shopping here…
image

Now, I know this is weird.  And I know people had to have thought I was weird today when I was taking pictures down the aisles.  I figured I’d be real with you tonight.  When Steve and I were in Arkansas, we found this store and had an absolute blast going through it.  I’m telling…we are weird.  We put a DVD on for the kids, locked the suburban and had ourselves a little “mini” date.   The kids had a phone and perfectly content to not join us, I promise.  Can you imagine?  Ha!  It’s where we found our favorite almond butter, Barney Butter that they did not sell in Kansas that we knew of.  And we found it there for only $5!!!!  It is the best.  It is so awesome.  And we have only a couple of them left.  Granted, this was last August–so that will give you a bit of an idea of how many we bought at that time.  The fact that they had the Barney Butter sealed the deal for us.  We were in love…with the store.  And were ever so jealous that we did not have one in the area.  That was until we pulled in through Wichita and saw this store being built.  Fate?  I think so.  The stars aligned and all was right with the world. 
image

Which brings me to today.  I was full of joy just walking through the store, aisle by aisle.  It provided me with the therapy I needed.  I am not even kidding.
image

Just look at the candy and nut bins…
image

And the big barrels of coffee beans?   You even get to take sample cups of coffee with you while you shop!
image

And then, every single kind of yogurt you could ever want.  Beautiful.
image

Coconut Butter.  Ever had it?  It’s so yummy—and an excellent source of “good” fats.
image

And I almost forgot my family’s love for lima beans.   I’ll take two bags, please!
image

Have you ever smelled the Meyer’s soaps and cleaning supplies?  Love.
image

And kale chips in a bag!  YUMMO!!
image

And finally, fresh made spicy guacamole with some fresh okra for the ride home.  I may or may not have eaten a whole pound of okra?
image

It is days like these where I don’t have to think, I don’t have to prepare, and I don’t have to be responsible for anything for a few glorious hours, that rejuvenates the heck out of me.  Call me weird.  Call me crazy.  But I am now ready to take on those dried rice krispies!!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

