out of sync.

Standard

I am in a long stretch of working right now.  And as tired as I am between 4:00 am and 5:00 am each morning when I feel like I need to beat myself up to stay awake, the minute 7:00 am rolls around and dayshift comes to relieve me, I get RENEWED energy and excitement as I sip my coffee on my drive home.  Coffee and renewed excitement do NOT always make for the best sleeping conditions once I get home.  And when the best sleeping conditions are not to be had, let’s just say…I may get a tad grumpy. 

I have to say that I am SO, SO thankful for a job that I love.  And so thankful for the girls I work with.  We have had some of the BEST conversations in the middle of the night.  And I have gotten some of the best tips and recipes.  Did you know  that the things that my coworkers and I think are extremely funny in the middle of the night will not produce any laughter from anyone you try to tell the next day?  Just sayin’.

Anyway, I was in a state of freaking out, to put it mildly, when I began to organize my life around an intense work schedule this week.  It’s not always easy for me to have a good meal plan and laundry caught up during my normal routine!   Thanks to a sweet friend at work, I rocked a meal that cooked in the crockpot while I tried to sleep.  Would you like it?

Creamy Italian Chicken

4 pieces Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breasts
1 envelope (about 1 Oz.) Italian Salad Dressing (dry)
¼ cups Water
1 package Cream Cheese (8 Oz. Softened)
1 can (10.75 Oz. Can) Condensed Cream Of Chicken Soup (undiluted)
1 pound Noodles

Place the chicken in a slow cooker or crock pot.
Combine salad dressing mix and water. Pour over chicken. Cover and cook on low for 3 hours.
In a small mixing bowl, beat cream cheese and soup until blended.
(Optional: you can stir in mushrooms at this time if you’d like.)

Pour sauce over the chicken and cook for 1 hour longer or until juices run clear.
Serve over noodles.
image

My slow cooker has a “warm” setting, so when I woke around noon, I switched it to that.  Then I made the sauce around 4:00 pm and switched it back to low.  It was ready at 6:00 and my family loved it.  I took my friends advice and doubled the sauce.

I think this recipe would be great over rice too.  Thanks Sonya for another recipe to the meal rotation!  And now, I think I’m going to sneak in a 25 minute nap before kids are begging for a snack…

 

Leave a Reply

