contentment.

Standard

For a brief moment such as this, I found complete and total contentment. 

 My mind has been racing, just like so many of our minds do, about what is next on my “to-do” list.  I open up my beloved planner and see an almost blank canvas for the month of June, but the reality sign is flashing with an ever blinding light in my mind telling me that that blank canvas of June is fooling me.  Because we all know that June is the busiest month of the summer for our kids.  Add harvest to that canvas, and we’ve got the first full month of summer break over in the blink of an eye. 

My planner is full of fun.  Celebrations of 8th grade recognition, graduations, upcoming vacations, camps, children’s ministry ideas, Blessings events, hospital shifts…you name it.  This planner that generally does not leave my side stayed in my car this afternoon.  My computer remained in sleep mode.  Order forms waiting to be entered laid scattered on the table.  Even my phone nested on the charger out of earshot. image

It was only for a few, short minutes.  But I found it.  I found contentment.  Contentment was sitting on my porch.  Contentment was looking at my potted flowers that we frantically planted not even a week ago to be ready for a party at our house.  Contentment was looking into the park and feeling all of those feelings of the beginnings of summer.  Contentment was near.  I could touch it.  Contentment was finding our Jesus Calling devotional next to my flowers from a past weekend morning where Steve and I shared our coffee.  And isn’t it just so amazing how God uses that gentle nudge to get you to pick up that book to May 15th?  And isn’t it amazing how words on a page can speak to your heart?  “Spending time alone with ME is essential for your well-being.  It is not a luxury or an option; it is a necessity.  Therefore, do not feel guilty about taking time to be with Me.”
image

image

I had a few glorious moments where I did not feel guilty about all I knew was waiting inside.  I was so soaked in contentment, I’m not even sure how to describe it.  I’m not sure there is a better feeling than contentment, is there?
image

Leave a Reply

