gone bananas.

Standard

I think my leg cramp in the middle of the night is very appropriate for this post. I must need more potassium, which means I must need more bananas. And no better way to get more bananas than in banana bread form, right?

I am loving Tonya’s Weekend Potluck link-up each Friday. It has made me start digging deep for some tried and true recipes worthy of sharing with others. So, inevitably, I may not always have something to share. But today, I most definitely do! Anytime a recipe sheet looks like this? You know it’s bound to be good.

20130906-070341.jpg</a

I am not even sure where I found this recipe originally. But I have been making it for years. And haven’t for awhile until a friend of mine told me “I made your banana bread again”. And I questioned which banana bread recipe I gave her in the first place. All she had to say was “peanut butter” and I knew exactly what she was talking about. It’s a keeper, friends! A dressed up, a little more special, type of banana bread. And we’ll say protein filled—you know, the peanut butter.

20130906-070907.jpg
If your family likes banana bread and peanut butter, and a hint of chocolate? They will love it!

Peanut Butter Banana Bread

Topping:

1/2 cup all purpose flour

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

1/4 cup creamy peanut butter

1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon

Batter:

1/2 cup butter, softened

1 pkg (8oz) cream cheese, softened

1 1/4 cup sugar

2 eggs

1 cup mashed ripe bananas

1 tsp. vanilla

2 1/4 cup flour

1 1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. cinnamon

1 1/2 cup chocolate chips (I only used a cup)

In a small bowl, stir the flour, brown sugar, peanut butter and cinnamon until crumbly; set aside.

Cream butter, cream cheese and sugar until fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in bananas and vanilla. Combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda and cinnamon. Stir into creamed mixture.

Divide half the batter between two greased loaf pans—sprinkle with half of the topping then top with chocolate chips. Repeat layers of batter and topping.

Bake at 350 degrees for 45-55 minutes. Cool 10 minutes before removing.

20130906-072806.jpg
And yet my son chooses to eat a cucumber for breakfast.

20130906-072959.jpg

20130906-073035.jpg

Leave a Reply

