prepare.

Standard

How many of you do Advent activities with your children?  Any other traditions that begin to surface as the week of thankfulness approaches?

I really do love family traditions.  There is just nothing more cozy than bringing your family together doing things they love that have become something they look forward to doing each and every year.  (and maybe some things they DON’T look forward to–ha!)  Advent is definitely a love of mine.  Advent means “the coming or arrival, especially of something extremely important.”  That sure helps bring the perspective of the Advent season.  What is more important than the coming of Jesus as a baby—our Saviour, King, and Lord?  That’s right.  There is nothing.

It is so very easy to get caught up in the hustle and bustle of the season.  I thrive on busyness.  I do.  It energizes me and fills me with joy to plan caroling parties, Christmas programs, Christmas Lights Night, teacher gifts, and the list goes on and on.  Yet, there is one thing that slows me down and makes me reflect on what is coming.

I just can NOT wait to begin our Advent activities this year.  And I get to add more to the list!  We have an awesome devotional/book I am excited to share with you all, but for today, I want to talk about Mary & Martha’s Advent Puzzle Tree. 

1452576_571276309609714_425316015_n

I am in love with it.  Now, as far as I am concerned, the “putting together” portion of this tree is perfect for adults and older children.  It takes some time and is a great challenge for kids.  What I am looking forward to MOST is the hanging ornaments on the tree adorned with an activity for each day on one side and a verse to memorize on the back side.  Brilliant!!  And the activities are easily doable.  Which is even more enticing.  I really think we will get all of these activities done!!  And that makes me even happier.

One activity is making cookies to take to bless someone with.  And because it’s FRIDAY–and because Tonya’s Weekend Potluck is my love, I am sharing a very quick and simple yummy cookie / goodie recipe for you all as you prepare for your holiday season.  These are so good and so addictive and have become a favorite around these parts—-only to be made for this season!!!  A sweet friend of mine at work gave me the recipe and I’ve been singing her praises ever since…

Easy Oreo Truffles

36 Oreos

1 block of cream cheese

2 bags of white chocolate chips, softened

Crush oreos in food processor, reserving 1/2 cup for sprinkling

Mix together with cream cheese.

Roll into small balls and place on parchment paper lined pan.

Freeze for 30 minutes until hardened.

Meanwhile, melt white chocolate chips in candy melter or microwave.

Drop and cover frozen balls into chocolate.

Place on parchment paper until hardened.

Sprinkle with extra oreo crumbs if desired.

image

We did these for teacher gifts last year and they were a cinch to put together and tasted like YUM!!!  If you’re looking for something easy—this is the goodie for you!!

Besides this yummy recipe, I have something else to share with you all.  I have 5 Advent Puzzle Trees available for the guest promotion price of $15.  (this is a deal, folks–normally $44!!)  I would love for your family to be blessed by these and start a new tradition as we anticipate the celebration of Jesus’ birthday!

You know the drill.  Message, comment, call, text, Facebook.  It’s first come first serve—and should be available for you to begin the Advent season on December 1st.  And just think?  You’ve got the cookie recipe all ready to go…

5 responses »

    • Hi Grace!! They are all spoken for. So sorry!! But with a $40 order you can purchase for $15. I would need to be the one to put it in for you to get that special. Let me know if I can help you. 😃

  1. Hi again!
    I’m sorry missed the special, but you said the tree is regularly $44? How can I order it at that price? Or your $15 with $40 purchase? What other things do you sell?
    Thanks!
    Grace

Leave a Reply

