why didn’t I start sooner?

Standard
why didn’t I start sooner?

About a month ago, this book came across my laptop as I was working.  At the time, just the title was so intriguing to me.  So intriguing to me that I decided right then and there that I needed that book.  I needed to know exactly what this book was talking about.  I had my own idea, which has now been confirmed.  But this pull for this book was so strong, I knew I would get the book in my hands as quickly as possible.  I had it reserved at a book store ready to pick up.  And then, another task led me somewhere else that day.  Only to find the book—the last available—sitting there looking at me, at Target, no less.

The Best Yes–by Lysa Terkeurst

205851

And further into this book, I signed up for an online bible study.  And did nothing with it.

What was I scared of?  I have had decisions and many choices reeling around in my head.  What happens with the two most powerful words of “yes” and “no”.  Where am I headed?  What are my goals?  And more importantly–what am I missing by overfilling my schedule with good things, but not the best.  Are there things that I need to give up in order to move others in?  And that question of “am I in the way?”

click

I love this.  It rings so true for me.  After sleepless nights of decision-making of a really menial thing, I am wondering why I didn’t start this bible study much sooner.  My own circumstance in listening for God’s voice this past few weeks was my own exercise in preparation for this study.

And I kick myself believing I could have saved myself some heartache.  I just have so much to learn.

The one who obeys God’s instruction for today will develop a keen awareness of His direction for tomorrow”–Lysa Terkeurst, The Best Yet.

I don’t want an “overwhelmed schedule” to cause me to “ache with the sadness of an underwhelmed soul”.

I am so looking forward to all this book has to offer in “checking the third box” in my life.  Not yes, not no…

but the “best yes”.

One response »

  1. Pingback: friday faves | Steph's Blessings

Leave a Reply

