friday faves.

Standard

1.) Early morning road trips with these two.

nandk

An unexpected scheduled knee surgery along with sore throat and fever caused these two to miss their Monday morning ride to their youth conference in Kansas City. So after an all clear from the surgeon and a couple of days of rest–we took a road trip to KC for the Mennonite Youth Convention. From what I have seen and heard via texting, snapchat, etc–they are  having an awesome time! Road trips give you a deeper glimpse into what’s going on in their world…

Major topic of conversation this go around?

College.

How did we get to this place? I’m not ready to even go their in my mind. But you better believe these girls are thinking about what the future holds in the next few years. (glad someone is!–ha!)

 2.) KU School of Nursing

In light of our conversation about college, I obviously was telling them about some of my own personal experiences. Especially when I passed Rainbow Blvd in downtown KC. The road I turned on to get to KU Medical Center. Some of the best times of my life and where one of the best decisions I’ve ever made was made.

So after dropping the girls off, I had to go take a trip down memory lane.

kumed

Oh the flood of memories. The nursing buildings are still named the same. It all looks eerily the same. Except they have beautiful hanging baskets along the walk leading to the school from the parking lot. And speaking of parking lots, we had quite a laugh about the time my car was honking due to a short in the middle of the day while I was at clinicals. I was called and could do nothing about it. So Steve, bless his heart, drove to help me out. Humiliation at it’s finest.

3.) The ending of harvest

harvest harvest2

We really don’t have a lot of commitments when it comes to wheat harvest. It is my family’s livelihood, yes. And it is a big passion of Steve’s, yes. The kids made it out a couple of night’s to get in on it. Nat managed to drive a combine. Just hobbling up into the cab was the biggest challenge.

4.) Spiral Curlers

curlers

With three girls (or four) in this house, we are always looking for fun ways to do hair. And these spiral curlers are awesome! It was a spur of the moment Jane buy and they actually work!! Kind of fun for something different.

5.) My planner and life changing sandals.

plannernew sanuk

I have a disturbing love and obsession for my Erin Condren planner. So much that I bought sandals to match it. I’m KIDDING! But these Sanuk sandals are the bomb. So stinkin’ comfy. And the coral does match my planner….

Leave a Reply

