the fave.

Standard

20131031-185742.jpg

Baked steak means mom is a rock star! When planning Steve’s 40 th birthday surprise family party, there was no other choice for the menu. And now that the weather is beautifully crisp and winter is knocking at our doors, I am much more inclined to turn my oven on all day and bring the “Sunday lunch” aroma to our home.  My mom has made this recipe ever since I was little and it has become a never failing “go to” recipe.  If you don’t believe that this will bring happiness to the mouths of your loved ones, you should check out Steve’s smile as he sat down for his birthday meal—click {HERE} for complete happiness.

If you’re looking for comfort food, this is where it’s at. Pair with mashed or fried potatoes, a veggie, roll, and fruit salad and you’ve got a winning meal. Trust me on this…your family will love it!  And if it’s a family love, then I need to share at Tonya’s Weekend Potluck!  And as far as a Grandma’s recipe or any good cook will tell you—there isn’t an exact recipe.  Don’t you love it when you hear that?  My mom and grandmas are amazing cooks/bakers—but I do have to say, it sometimes irritates me when they can’t give me the exact recipe.  So, when thinking of posting this, the thought came through my head…”I really don’t have a recipe for this”—and I was instantly irritated with myself.  BUT, this is pretty much how you make it.

Baked Steak
8-12 pieces of minute steak
Flour
Salt
Pepper
2 cans of Cream of Mushroom and Chicken

2  soup cans full of milk or half and half

Mix about 1 cup of flour with 3 Tbsp of Lawry salt and 1Tbsp pepper. Dredge each piece of meat and cover in flour mixture. Pan fry meat just until browned in skillet with about 1 inch of oil. Layer meat in roaster. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Meanwhile, mix cans of soups and milk and heat in microwave and stir to combine. Pour over meat.

Bake for 2-3 hours.

And then kindly sit back and accept your “Mom and Wife of the Year” award.

78 responses »

  1. It is not even 8:00 am and I am salivating. this looks and sounds so good.
    One question though – what is minute steak? Please answer today – – – I must buy and make. YUM!!

  2. Yum! Definitely gonna do this! Think my Mom may have said “minute ” steaks years ago. I kind of thought it must be either cube steak or round steak…lol If you can’t find cube steak, just get round steak, cut into individual pieces, and beat to a pulp!

  3. This may be a silly question, but is it two (2) can of cream of chicken and two (2) cans of cream of mushroom, or just one (1) of each with a total of two (2) cans? Sorry, just wasn’t sure and want to make this weekend!

  4. This looks great! Do you bake yours for 2 or 3 hours? I have the hardest time gauging what is going to make my meat dry or tough compared to tender and juicy;-)

  5. Pingback: Weekend Potluck #92 | 4 little Fergusons

  6. Pingback: Happy Weekend Potluck!

  7. I make this using my Grandmother’s recipe. She added one package of onion soup mix to the cream soup and it is super yummy! sometimes I throw fresh mushroom slices in as well. I can vouch for how delicious this is! Happy cooking to all 🙂

    • Yes, I do cover it. And then during that hour or so, uncover. I think either way would work fine. I made it just this last Sunday and had it covered while baking—then, when I got home from church and got everything else ready, I uncovered it. It will work either way!

  8. My mom used to make this dish almost the same but she just used cream of mushroom soup added about 3 to 4 potatos cut up and the last few minutes of cooking added some frozen peas and she cooked it in a dutch oven on top of the stove. Any leftover gravy is good the next day on a slice of bread yum!

  9. I don’t want to be a party pooper… So let me be sure I get this right…

    A Tablespoon of Lawry’s Season Salt has 3040mg of sodium. and this recipe calls for 3 Tablespoons… so that’s 9120mg of sodium PLUS 843mg in the cream of mushroom soup and 870mg in the cream of chicken soup PLUS 214mg of sodium in two cups of milk. That brings this recipe to a grand total of 11,047mg of sodium.

    I wonder where it gets it’s flavor?

    No matter how you cook it… any recipe with 11,000mg of sodium… is heart attack waiting to happen.

    Anyone want to take a shot at making this recipe just as tasty but without all the sodium?

  10. My mom made this with pot roast rather than cube/minute steaks, added a packet of dry onion soup mix to the canned mushroom soup, and wrapped the whole thing in foil – easy clean-up. I continue the “tradition.”

  11. My mother used to make a dish like this and when she made it, the whole house smelled so good! I had lost the recipe and she has past away so I couldn’t ask her. Thanks for the recipe and for bringing back some good memories. I can hardly wait to make this dish.

  12. I think this sounds awesome, but I am thinking I might use golden mushroom soup and cream of onion soup. Thanks for the recipe!

  13. If you don’t like mushroom soup then use one can of cream of celery and one can of cream of chicken soup and the taste is amazing. I also cook this on top of the stove and cook for about 45 minutes and it is just as good as 2-3 hours in oven.

  14. I will have to try this recipe next week, just hope when I go into SAFEWAY they will know what minute steak is. Guess it’s like cube or round steak cut in chucks. Thanks for the recipe!

  15. Pingback: she gets the credit. | Steph's Blessings

  16. If you find the meat you want to use, your butcher will run it through the tenderizer a few times for you, but I can’t imagine that any store wouldn’t carry cube steaks. You can make the recipe with the whole steak (tenderized) as well and cut it when you serve it….or that butcher should do both for you. It’s a basic Swiss Steak recipe and I’m thrilled for this reminder, as it always was one of my favorite things.

  17. When cooking in the crock pot, how long would you cook it and would that be on low or high? Sound yummy and I love using my crock pot instead of the oven. Thanks

  18. I just made this and its very easy and good. I did slice up some onions over the steaks then put my soup over all. Yum. Mushrooms will be on them next time too as this recipe is a keeper.

  19. Made this today. Easy prep. Wife loved it! Used a Dutch oven in the oven @350. After 1 hour and 40 min, turned oven to 240. Turned out great.

    • So many awesome things about this!!! First of all—your wife loved it. Secondly, you cooked/baked it for her!!! You do know, it tastes even better when you don’t have to cook it yourself! 🙂 So glad it turned out.

  20. I made this last night came out pretty good, but I only used one can of each soup, the gravy got thick on me pretty fast, I should of used 2 of mushroom and 2 of chicken right? And how many cans total of milk? I used only two should’ve of I used more than two? I loved it want to make it again. Thanks.

  21. HI, I made this last night. I used one less Tablespoon of the seasoning salt, I added a can of mushroom stems and pieces, and I sliced up a medium onion and added it. Oh my goodness this was such a great meal. Paired it up with mashed potatoes. All I heard from my husband was grunts and MMMM’s. I guess that meant it was a hit with him. This recipe is so good, it is a keeper in my recipe box. THANK YOU!!!!! 🙂

  22. Lawrys seasoned salt has 380 mg of sodium per 1/4 tsp. x 4 = 1520 mg. per tablespoon. You can also purchase a 25% less sodium variety.

  23. Hey! This is probably a silly question, but can I just use a casserole dish? Or do I need to use a roasting pan to lift it off of the bottom??

  24. Pingback: friday faves | Steph's Blessings

  25. Pingback: Weekend Potluck #92 – Sunflower Supper Club 3

Leave a comment